HomeLearn to Play ChessImprove Your GameChess HistoryChess for FunChess Blog

The Year 2002 in Review
National Championships (of the main English speaking countries)

Since the majority of the visitors to the About site are native English speakers, here are the results of the championships of the main English speaking countries. The championships of Australia, India, New Zealand, and the U.S. were decided in January.

The Australian National Championship was part of the Melbourne Festival of Chess. Darryl Johansen and Nicholas Speck finished equal first with 8.5/11. Almost at the same time, Anthony Ker won the New Zealand title with 8.5/11 at Christchurch.

The U.S. Championships were held in Seattle, where 56 players competed in an Open, including for the first time 12 women. Larry Christiansen won the overall event after a blitz playoff against Nick de Firmian. Jennifer Shahade won the women's title as the highest placed woman.

The championship of India was held at Nagpur. The category VIII, 20 player event with 5 GMs and 9 IMs saw a battle between the two young Indian stars, Krishnan Sasikiran (21 years old) and Pentala Harikrishna (16). Sasikiran won.

IM Pascal Charbonneau and GM Kevin Spraggett tied for first place in the Canadian Championship, held in March. Charbonneau won the playoff.

The 1st North American Championship, sponsored by WorldChessNetwork.com, was held in British Columbia, in June. The match between U.S. champion GM Larry Christiansen and Canadian champion Pascal Charbonneau was won by Christiansen 4-1.

Sam Collins won the Irish Championship with a score of 7/9 at Greystones in July. The same month, Paul Motwani won the Scottish Championship in Stirling. It was his 6th win.

Indian IM R.B. Ramesh scored 8.5/11 to win the Smith & Williamson British Championship, held at Torquay, England, in August. He finished 1/2 point ahead of the previous champion Joe Gallagher and the pre-tournament favorite Sasikiran. He was the first Indian winner of the event, open to British and Commonwealth players, since Sultan Khan in 1929 and 1933. Humpy Koneru, also of India, took the women's title.

Next : Opens 2002

 More of this Feature
• The Best Players
• World Championship
• International Events
• National Championships
• Opens
• Computers
• Passages